Jelly Pedicure

18 10 2011

M.D. and I drove over to the west coast of Florida this past weekend to visit my grandparents. We hadn’t seen them since our wedding so it was really nice getting to steal them all to ourselves for some quality time. They totally spoiled us the whole time we were there. The night we showed up, my grandma looked at my feet and asked, “Do you need a pedicure?” How could I say no to that?

Saturday morning she called and made us an appointment at her favorite salon, and we picked up Starbucks on the way (I told you, totally spoiled us). When we got there, she told them we were going to get a jelly pedicure. I had never heard of this, and she told me I’d love it.

I was shocked when I saw the technician put a powder into the water and it turned bright green. My grandma’s was bright blue. I wish I had taken a picture, but I didn’t think about it until later. If you Google it there are some pictures and videos of it.

I slowly slipped my feet into the water, and was pretty shocked at how it felt. It was just like you’d expect – like jelly. As I moved my feet around in the water, it thickened up. Apparently the jelly is to hold the heat in, and I really enjoyed the long soak my feet got. It was definitely one of the weirdest sensations I’ve ever felt, but I did enjoy it. That’s not to say that I’ll shell out the extra cash for it when I go for a pedicure (which is almost never), but if Grandma’s treating, I’ll be in.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

